Nominations close for candidates for the West Midlands Combined Authority mayoral election

The official list of candidates for the first West Midlands Combined Authority (WMCA) mayoral election is now confirmed.

The deadline for nominations passed at 4pm today (April 4) and a total of six candidates will now seek to become the region’s first ever mayor on polling day of May 4.

They are:

  • James Burn - Green Party
  • Pete Durnell - UK Independence Party (UKIP)
  • Beverley Anne Nielsen - Liberal Democrats
  • Siôn Llewelyn Simon – Labour and Co-operative Party
  • Graham John Stevenson - Communist
  • Andy Street – The Conservative Party Candidate

WMCA chief executive and the Combined Authority Returning Officer Martin Reeves said: “This is the definitive list of candidates for the election and it is now down to the people of the West Midlands to make their choice.

“This election is a historic first for this region and I would urge people to ensure they are registered to vote and that they turn out on the day to do so.”

Those eligible to vote should register to do so by 12 midnight on Thursday April 13.

The election is being held as a result of the devolution deal with the Government, which will see more than £1.1 billion made available for investment in the region over the next 30 years.

Combined Authority Mayors will:                                                    

  • have control over new long term budgets from central government
  • implement transport investment, strategic planning, improve skills and invest in new homes
  • lobby on behalf of their area, on the issues that matter to local people not only in Westminster, but on the world stage
  • work with local business leaders to achieve what’s best for local jobs and the economy
  • capitalise on local strengths and assets like our universities, scientific research and innovation


For more details about the election and to register to vote go to

Share this story