Skip to main content

2022 - 23 WMCA Skills Programmes Funding Rules

Annex A: eligibility for funding

This Annex sets out the countries falling within the below categories as referenced in the residency eligibility section.

British Overseas Territories

  • Anguilla

  • Bermuda

  • British Antarctic Territory

  • British Indian Ocean Territory

  • British Virgin Islands

  • Cayman Islands

  • Falkland Islands

  • Gibraltar

  • Montserrat

  • Pitcairn, Henderson Island, Ducie and Oeno Islands

  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Isles

  • St Helena and its dependencies (Ascension and Tristan da Cunha)

  • Turks and Caicos Islands


The EEA comprises of the following countries:

  • All Member States of the European Union

You can access a list of member states on the EU website.

  • with respect to EEA nationality, note that any Cypriot national living on any part of the island qualifies for EU residency and is considered an EU national.

  • Iceland

  • Lichtenstein

  • Norway

Table 3 lists territories that are categorised as being within the EU and or territories that are categorised as being part of the listed countries such that they satisfy our residency requirements for the purposes of the Skills programme funding rules. 

Table 1:

The following is part of Denmark: Greenland, Faroe Islands


The following is part of Finland and the EU: Aland islands


The following is part of France and the EU: the French Overseas Department (DOMS) (Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana (Guyana), Reunion and Saint-Pierre et Miquelon) The following is part of France: New Caledonia and its dependencies, French Polynesia, Saint Barthélemy


The following is part of Germany and the EU: Tax-free port of Heligoland


The following is part of the Netherlands: Antilles (Bonaire, Curacao, Saba, St Eustatius and St Maarten), Aruba


The following is part of Portugal and the EU: Madeira, The Azores


The following is part of Spain and the EU: the Balearic Islands, the Canary Islands, Ceuta, Melilla